Small

A psychologist came and observed my class today for a certification she was working on. I felt like my calc class was being super sluggish and just wasn’t with me…like they didn’t have the same amount of energy they usually do. When I talked to psychologist her first comment was, “They were so on top of things and so with you! I was impressed by them.”

Sometimes an outsider’s perspective is good. 

***** 

One of my Intermediate kids asked for a pencil. I asked for his ID as a holder. 

“I don’t have it. I can give you gum?”

I chuckled. “You can just take the pencil and then go to your attendance office once you finish this problem.”

I looked at my pencil holder later in the hour. There was a pack of gum sitting next to the pencils. 

Only kids are this funny and cute. Only kids. 

*****

One of my kids has a broken hand. I noticed he was sporting a very well done French braid. I asked if he braided his own hair. He said he did, even though it was hard to do with a broken hand (no doubt). 

“I have three little sisters and I used to braid their hair all the time.”

Can there be anything cuter??

*****

Two other calc students took me up on lunch time calculus with Mrs. P today, as I had asked them to please come once a week. It amazed me how much more relaxed and how much more focused they were in this smaller setting. Moments like this make me completely understand why teachers and parents choose private schools. 

And make me all the more determined to offer that same small-feel to each of our kids. 

They deserve it, too. 

Leave a comment